Inspector General

The Office of Inspector General (OIG) provides a central point for coordination of and responsibility for activities that promote accountability, integrity and efficiency within the FWC.

The OIG accomplishes these goals through internal audits, investigations and management reviews. Additionally, the OIG conducts investigations brought under the agency's Ombudsman Program and investigates complaints that fall under the state's whistle-blower statute and complaints involving alleged sexual harassment.

Mike Troelstrup is the FWC's Inspector General.

Accreditation

On June 27, 2013, the FWC Office of Inspector General Investigations Section was accredited by the Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation (CFA).

In April of 2016, the FWC OIG Internal Investigations Section underwent a Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation (Commission) assessment to retain state-level accreditation.  Accreditation is part of a voluntary process completed every three years, which recognizes professional excellence in the field. The re-accreditation assessment examines all aspects of the OIG’s Internal Investigations Section, including a review of policies and procedures, management, operations and support services.  

We are proud to report the FWC OIG Investigations Section passed the assessment and was re-accredited on June 22, 2016.  Congratulations to Mike Troelstrup, Amy Schmidt and the Investigations Team for their accomplishments!

OIGRe-Accreditation.jpg

More Information

Report Employee Misconduct

If you suspect a Commission employee of misconduct, or have knowledge of any fraud, waste or abuse that affects the Commission, you may provide this information or file a formal complaint by contacting the Inspector General's office, or by submitting a report online.

Contact

Mike Troelstrup, Inspector General
(Certified Inspector General)
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Fax: 850-488-6414
Email: Mike.Troelstrup@MyFWC.com

Magen Naret, Director of Auditing
(Certified Internal Auditor)
(Certified Inspector General Auditor)
Fish and Wildlife Research Institute
Office of Inspector General
100 8th Ave SE
St. Petersburg , FL 33701
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Magen.Naret@MyFWC.com

Capt. Andy Bickel, Investigations
(Certified Inspector General Investigator)
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Andrew.Bickel@MyFWC.com

Capt. Oscar Gonzalez, Investigations
(Certified Inspector General Investigator)
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Oscar.Gonzalez@MyFWC.com

Capt. Maurice Austin, Investigations
(Certified Inspector General Investigator)
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Maurice.Austin@MyFWC.com

Capt. Michael Meaney, Investigations
(Certified Inspector General Investigator)
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Michael.Meaney@MyFWC.com

Jana Weiskotten, Management Analyst II
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Jana.Weiskotten@MyFWC.com

Charles Mohamete, Internal Auditor
(Certified Inspector General Auditor)
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Charles.Mohamete@MyFWC.com

Donna Whittle, Internal Auditor
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Donna.Whittle@MyFWC.com

Isabelle Ghini
Administrative Assistant
620 South Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Phone: 850-488-6068
Email: Isabelle.Ghini@MyFWC.com



FWC Facts:
American shad are anadromous, which means they live in salt water but spawn in fresh water.

Learn More at AskFWC