Ocala National Forest Lakes

Lakes & Marion counties

Ocala National Forest Wildcat Lake

There are approximately 600 natural lakes in the Ocala National Forest with lakes Bryant, Mill Dam, Kerr, Crooked, Wildcat, Lou Echo, Grasshopper, Eaton and Quarry Fish Pond being the most popular. A booklet titles "Fishing Opportunities in the Ocala National Forest" by the Ocala National Forest Interpretive Association is available at the Visitors Welcome Center at the intersection of S.R. 40 and C.R. 315. This booklet describes sport fishing locations, with recommendations for fishing methods and accessibility, as well as a topographic map.

Note: There is a slot and special bag limit on Lake Kerr. No person shall kill or possess any largemouth bass that is 15" or more in total length and less than 24 inches in total length. No person shall take in one day more than 3 largemouth bass of which only one may be 24" or longer in total length.

Note: Lake Wildcat has a special regulation requiring all largemouth bass to be released immediately.


TrophyCatchTrophyCatch Tracker

TrophyCatch is FWC's citizen-science program that rewards anglers for documenting and releasing trophy bass 8 pounds or larger. The following TrophyCatch bass have been submitted from the various Ocala National Forest Lakes:

Lunker Club (8 – 9.9 pounds): 4

Trophy Club (10 – 12.9 pounds): 3


 Current Forecast:

Lake Bryant is always a good place to seek panfish.  Bluegills typically bed near lily pads in this lake.  However, the docks sometimes hold fish as well.  FWC biologists observed large redear sunfish and bluegills around the entire lake.  Lake Kerr can also produce panfish by fishing in the open water where the water depth drops.  Fish on the shallow side of the drop on bottom for panfish.    Bass fishing in the forest remains good through out the summer.  Night fishing in some of the larger forest lakes (Bryant, Wildcat, and Grasshopper) works well.  Fishing with shiners tends to produce the best results.


FWC Facts:
The Florida black bear is one of three subspecies of bears recognized in the southeastern United States.

Learn More at AskFWC