Boundary Maps and Management Zones

Florida state waters are from shore to 3 nautical miles on the Atlantic and from shore to 9 nautical miles on the Gulf. In most places, federal waters extend from where state waters end out to about 200 nautical miles or to where other country's waters begin.

The maps below detail important fishing boundaries and management zones.

Click on the maps to view them as a larger file PDF.

Atlantic/Gulf boundary lineAdobe PDF

(applies to all saltwater species except grouper and snook) 

Atlantic Gulf Fisheries Boundary Line

20-Fathom Break and Grouper Atlantic/Gulf boundary lineAdobe PDF

Several species of Gulf grouper (red, black, yellowfin, yellowmouth and scamp) are closed Feb. 1-March 31 seaward of the 20-fathom break.

 20-Fathom Grouper Boundary Line


Monroe County: Several species of Atlantic grouper (red, black, yellowfin, yellowmouth, scamp, rock hind, red hind, coney, graysby and tiger) are closed Jan. 1 - April 30 in all state and federal waters of the Atlantic including all state waters off Monroe County (Atlantic and Gulf sides). During this closure, anglers can harvest grouper in open federal waters of the Gulf and return to port in Monroe County by traveling through closed state waters of the Gulf as long as the vessel proceeds directly to port without stopping to fish.

Gag Grouper Management Zones Adobe PDF

Gag grouper is open in the Gulf state waters June 1-Dec. 31 (excluding Franklin, Wakulla, Taylor, Jefferson and Monroe counties); April 1-June 30 in state waters off of Franklin, Wakulla, Taylor and Jefferson counties; and May 1-Dec. 31 in Atlantic state and federal waters.

Gag grouper boundary map

Red Drum Management Zone

The daily bag limit for red drum is 2 per person in the northeast management zone and 1 per person in the northwest and south management zone.

red drum management zone map

  • Northwest:Escambia through Fred Howard Park Causeway near Pasco County
  • South:Fred Howard Park Causeway through Monroe County (west coast) and Miami-Dade through Volusia counties (east coast)
  • Northeast: Flagler through Nassau counties

Spotted Seatrout Management Zone

The daily bag limit for spotted seatrout is 6 per person in the northeast zone, 5 per person in the northwest zone and 4 per person in the southeast and southwest zones.

spotted seatrout management zone map

  • Northwest:Escambia County through Fred Howard Park Causeway near Pasco County.
  • Southwest:Fred Howard Park Causeway through Monroe County line at Card Sound.
  • Southeast:Miami-Dade County at Card South through Volusia County.
  • Northeast: Flagler through Nassau counties.

Bay Scallop Harvest Zone

bay scallop harvest zone map

Bay scallops may only be harvested in state waters from the Pasco-Hernando County line (near Aripeka - latitude 28 degrees, 26.016 minutes North) to the west bank of the Mexico Beach Canal in Bay County (longitude 85 degrees, 25.84 minutes West).

Blue Crab Trap Closures

In an effort to identify and retrieve lost and abandoned blue crab traps, the FWC has established regional blue crab trap closures. These six regional closures last up to 10 days and prohibit recreational and commercial harvest of blue crabs with traps in these areas. The closures alternate coasts every year with closures on the east coast of Florida occurring during the even numbered years and closures on the west coast occurring on the odd years.

blue crab trap closure map east coast

Even Year Closures

  • All waters of the St. Johns River system its associated lakes and tributaries from west of the St. Johns River's intersection with the Intercoastal Canal through and including Lake Helen of Blazes from Jan. 16-25
  • All waters from the Georgia/Florida state line, excluding the St. Johns River system, south through Volusia County from Aug. 20-29
  • All waters of Brevard through Palm Beach counties, excluding the St. Johns River system, from Aug. 10-19

blue crab trap closure map west coast

Odd Year Closures

  • All waters of Franklin County to the Florida/Alabama state line however, excluding all waters of the Ochlockonee River and Bay, from Jan. 5-14
  • All waters of Broward through Pasco Counties from July 10-19
  • All waters of Hernando through Wakulla counties including all waters of the Ochlockonee River and Bay from July 20-29

Permit Management Zone

Recreational harvest of permit is closed May 1 - July 31 within the Special Permit Zone.

permit management zone map

The Special Permit Zone includes state and federal waters south of Cape Florida in the Atlantic and south of Cape Sable in the Gulf.

Snook Season Atlantic/Gulf Boundary Line Adobe PDF

Snook is managed by two regions in Florida: Atlantic and Gulf of Mexico (including Monroe County and Everglades National Park). Regulations apply in state and adjacent federal waters. A snook permit is required if not exempt.

snook management zone map 


The Weakfish Management Zone includes state waters from the Florida-Georgia line to the southernmost tip of Amelia Island, the inland waters of Nassau County and the St. Marys River and its tributaries east of Highway 17, north of State Highway 200A and north of the Shave Bridge on the Amelia River.

Weakfish management zone map


FWC Facts:
Sharks have eyelid-like membranes that protect their eyes when eating.

Learn More at AskFWC