Major Changes

Major regulation and rule changes for this season are listed below. There are many other changes not listed here. Hunters are responsible for learning requirements and regulations pertaining to the types of hunting they pursue.

  • Deer Management Units (DMUs) have been established in hunting zones A, B and C, each with their own unique set of antler regulations and private land antlerless deer harvest days. See web pages showing DMU maps for more information.

  • The western boundary of Hunting Zone B has been moved east from the Gulf of Mexico to become Interstate 75. All lands that were previously located in Zone B west of I-75 are now part of Zone C and have earlier fall hunting season dates. See Hunting Zone Map to view updated Zone B map.

  • A new public hunting area in northwest Florida has been established called Escribano Point Wildlife Management Area. The 4,057-acre tract in Santa Rosa County offers archery, general gun, muzzleloading gun and spring turkey hunts by quota permit, and a walk-in small-game hunting season.

  • A bear hunting season has been established in four of the seven bear management units (BMUs) – East Panhandle BMU, North BMU, Central BMU and South BMU. The season will open Oct. 24 and a special-use bear permit is required.


FWC Facts:
Bowhunter Field Day is a hands-on, constructive experience covering bow setup and shooting, field walks, blood-trail exercises, tree stands, equipment preparation and survival.

Learn More at AskFWC