Regulations Summary and Area Map
July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2016
Brochure | Map Only
This brochure is designed to provide the public with information and a summary of regulations pertaining to hunting and other recreational use on the Punta Gorda Water Treatment Facility Public Small Game Hunting Area. Regulations that are new or differ substantially from last year are shown in bold print. Area users should familiarize themselves with all regulations. For exact wording of the wildlife laws and regulations, see the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s wildlife code, on file with the Secretary of State and state libraries. This brochure and the Florida Hunting Regulations handbook should provide the information necessary for you to plan your hunting activities. These publications are available from any Commission office, county tax collector and at MyFWC.com.
Permit, Stamp and License Information:
Persons using Public Small Game Hunting Areas are required to have appropriate licenses, permits and stamps. The following persons are exempt from all license and permit requirements (except for quota permits when listed as “no exemptions”, recreational use permits, antlerless deer permits and the Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp [federal duck stamp]): Florida residents who are 65 years of age or older; residents who possess a Florida Resident Disabled Person Hunting and Fishing Certificate; residents in the U.S. Armed Forces, not stationed in Florida, while home on leave for 30 days or less, upon submission of orders; and children under 16 years of age. Children under 16 years of age are exempt from the federal duck stamp. Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975 and 16 years of age or older must have passed a Commission-approved hunter-safety course prior to being issued a hunting license, except the Hunter Safety Mentoring exemption allows anyone to purchase a hunting license and hunt under the supervision of a licensed hunter, 21 years of age or older.
Licenses and permits may be purchased from county tax collectors, license agents, at MyFWC.com/license or by telephone at 888-486-8356. A no-cost Migratory Bird Permit is available when purchasing a hunting license. Any waterfowl hunter 16 years of age or older must possess a federal duck stamp.
Quota Permit Information:
Dove Hunt - 45, no-cost, quota permits (no exemptions) for each of 4 hunts.
Hog Management Hunt - 8, no-cost, quota permits (no exemptions).
Dove hunt permit applications: Hunters must submit electronic applications for quota permits through the Commission’s Recreational License Issuance Services (RLIS). Worksheets listing hunts, application periods, deadlines and instructions are available at county tax collector’s offices, FWC offices or MyFWC.com. Quota application periods occur throughout the year beginning June 1; please refer to the hunting handbook or MyFWC.com for specific dates. Worksheets will be available about 2 weeks prior to each application period.To apply for this hunt, hunters should obtain a “Dove Quota – Punta Gorda” worksheet.
- Prior to the hunts, individuals may be issued no more than two permits and each permit must be for a different hunt date.
- Individuals issued a quota permit prior to the hunts must check-in at the check station between 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. during Daylight Saving Time (DST, hunts before or on Oct. 17) or between 11 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. during Eastern Standard Time (EST, hunts on or after Nov. 21) on the day of their scheduled hunt or their permit will be voided. Any voided permits may be obtained first-come, first-served at the check station beginning at 3:00 p.m. DST or 2:00 p.m. EST.
- Each permit allows one adult and one child under age 16 to hunt and each may take a daily bag limit.
- Quota permits are valid only for the date listed on the permit.
Hog management hunt permit applications: Hunters must submit electronic applications for quota permits through the Commission’s Recreational License Issuance Services (RLIS). Worksheets listing hunts, application periods, deadlines and instructions are available at county tax collector’s offices, FWC offices or MyFWC.com. Quota application periods occur throughout the year beginning June 1; please refer to the hunting handbook or MyFWC.com for specific dates. Worksheets will be available about 2 weeks prior to each application period.To apply for this hunt, hunters should obtain a “Quota - Wild Hog” worksheet. These permits will be eligible for guest permits. The guest and host must enter and exit the area together and must share a vehicle while hunting on the area.
Transfer of permits: Dove permits are transferable. Wild hog quota permits are NOT transferable.
In addition to the regulations that follow, all general laws and regulations relating to wild animal life shall apply, unless specifically exempted for this area.
- Driving a metal object into any tree, or hunting from a tree in which a metal object has been driven is prohibited.
- Fires are prohibited.
- Construction or use of permanent blinds or structures is prohibited.
- Tampering with or destruction of equipment, improvements, and water control structures is prohibited.
- Public access is prohibited in portions of public hunting areas that are posted as “Closed” or “Restricted.”
- The release of any animal is prohibited, without written authorization of the landowner or primary land manager.
- Taking or attempting to take any game with the aid of live decoys, recorded game calls or sounds, set guns, artificial light, net, trap, snare, drug or poison is prohibited. Recorded calls and sounds can be used to hunt wild hog.
- A hunting license is not required for the take of wild hog.
- The wanton and willful waste of wildlife is prohibited.
- Littering is prohibited.
- A Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission Law Enforcement Officer may search any camp, vehicle or boat, in accordance with law.
Public Access and Vehicles:
- Public recreational access is allowed on hunt days only.
- Vehicles may be operated only on named and numbered roads and may be parked in designated parking areas or within 25 feet of a named or numbered road.
- Vehicles may not be operated on named and numbered roads designated as closed to vehicular traffic.
- Horses, airboats, outboard motors larger than 10 horsepower, tracked vehicles, motorcycles, and all-terrain vehicles are prohibited.
Hunters and Check Stations:
- Hunters must check in at the check station upon entering and check out upon leaving the area and check all game harvested.
- Dove hunters may enter the area no earlier than 11 a.m. and shall exit the area no later than one hour after sunset.
- Hog hunters may enter the area no earlier than one hour before sunrise and shall exit the area no later than one hour after sunset.
- Hunting with of guns other than shotguns, crossbows and longbows (including compound and recurve bows) is prohibited.
- The take of wildlife with ammunition other than buckshot is prohibited during the hog management hunts.
- While hunting migratory birds, shotguns capable of holding more than three shells must be plugged to a three-shell capacity with a one-piece filler which cannot be removed without disassembling the gun.
- Hunting at night with a gun is prohibited.
- Children under the age of 16 hunting with a firearm must be in the presence of a supervising adult.
- No person shall discharge a firearm or have a loaded firearm in hand while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Hunting with full automatic firearms, rifles, handgun, explosive or drug-injecting devices and set guns is prohibited.
- The discharge of a firearm outside of periods open to hunting or in areas closed to hunting is prohibited per s. 790.15 FS.
- Hunting wild hogs with dogs is prohibited.
- Waterfowl retrievers, bird dogs, and other dogs with a shoulder height of 17 inches or less may be used for hunting.
- For purposes other than hunting, dogs are allowed but must be kept under physical restraint at all times.
Bag and Possession Limits:
- Wild hog - No size or bag limits.
- Dove (aggregate of mourning and white-winged doves) - Daily limit 15.
Only one daily bag limit may be possessed while in the field or while returning from the field. A hunter may leave their birds with another person if the birds are tagged with the hunter’s signature, address, the total number of birds by species, and the date of harvest.
October 3, October 17, November 21, and December 25.
Permit, Stamp and License Requirements - Quota permit, hunting license, management area permit, and migratory bird permit.
Legal to Take - Mourning dove and white-winged dove only.
Regulations Unique to the Dove Season -
- Doves may be taken only within the posted dove field boundaries.
- Shooting hours are noon to sunset.
Hog Management Hunt:
Permit, Stamp and License Requirements - Quota permit and management area permit.
Legal to Take - Wild hog only.
Regulations Unique to the Hog Management Hunt - Shooting hours are one-half hour before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset.
Dove Hunters Hotline:
Visit our web site at MyFWC.com/dove/ to find out the latest information on FWC dove fields across the state of Florida. Most of the information will be updated every Thursday throughout the dove season.
This agency and the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibit discrimination by race, color, nationality, age, sex or disability. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity or facility of this agency, write to: Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, 620 South Meridian Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600 or to: Office of Human Relations, USFWS, Department of the Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240.