Visitors' Licenses

Nonresident hunting and fishing licenses

Nonresidents who are 16 years of age or older are required to have Florida hunting, freshwater fishing or saltwater fishing licenses and permits except as listed below.

Residency requirements  

Out-of-state fishing and hunting licenses are not valid in Florida. 

A fishing license is required to attempt to take fish.  If you cast your line or catch and release and you are not a member of one the groups listed below; you need a license.  A saltwater fishing license is also required to attempt to take any native or nonnative marine organisms, such as crabs, lobsters, and marine plants.

Visitors who are listed on the National Saltwater Angler Registry External Website are required to have a Florida recreational saltwater fishing license unless they are a member of one of the exempted groups listed on this page.

Nonresidents using beach or haul seines for recreational purposes are required to have a commercial saltwater products license. Not a Mobile-Enabled LinkFishing from shore

Licenses, permits and fees

License and permit fees are nonrefundable.

Do I need a freshwater or saltwater fishing license or both?

Who does not need a Florida license?

Visitors do not need a recreational hunting, freshwater fishing or saltwater fishing license or a Florida waterfowl, migratory bird, deer, turkey, snook, spiny lobster, archery season, crossbow season, muzzleloading season, or management area permit or a federal duck stamp if...

  • You are a child under 16 years of age.
  • You are hunting wild hogs on private land.

Visitors do not need a saltwater fishing license or a snook or spiny lobster *permit if...

* These exceptions do not apply to tarpon tags.

Visitors do not need a freshwater fishing license if...

  • You are fishing in a fish pond of 20 acres or less which is located entirely within the private property of its owner.  A fish pond is a man-made pond constructed for the primary purpose of fishing, entirely within the property lines of the owner and with no surface water connection to public waters.
  • You are freshwater fishing during Free Fishing Days. Not a Mobile-Enabled Link
  • You are fishing in a fish pond of 20 acres or more, whose owner has purchased a fish pond license Not a Mobile-Enabled Link at a fee of $3 per surface acre.
  • You are fishing in the St. Mary's River or Lake Seminole (but not including tributary creeks in Florida) and have a valid Georgia fishing license.

All nonresident hunters 16 years of age or older must purchase a Florida hunting license and all related permits when hunting in Florida, except when hunting wild hogs on private lands.

 

ada Nonresident visitors with disabilities do not meet the criteria to receive a no-cost license. The license is not a disability accommodation but an economic accommodation for the segment of Florida's disabled population who typically can least afford to pay for the license.



FWC Facts:
FWC officers provide wildlife and marine law enforcement services along Florida's coastline and 34 million acres of land and fresh water.

Learn More at AskFWC