Hunter safety course in Glades Co. offers traditional or online instruction
Wednesday, July 06, 2011
Media contact: Gabriella B. Ferraro, 772-215-9459
The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) will
host a free hunter safety course July 9 and 10 from 8 a.m. to 5
p.m. in Glades County. Except for those who have successfully
completed the online hunter
education course, attendance on both days is required for
certification. If you have completed the online course, print and
bring your final Web report to the FWC course on July 9.
Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun handling and
hunter ethics/responsibility, among other topics, before taking the
final test. The course also includes live-firing instruction on a
Classes both days will be held at the Glades County Sheriff's
Office Shooting Range, on Gun Club Road, 3 miles north of U.S. 27
on S.R. 78 in Moore Haven.
Space is limited, and reservations are required. Participants
can make reservations at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety
or by calling 561-625-5122. A statewide schedule of hunter safety
classes is available at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety.
Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an approved
hunter safety course before purchasing a Florida hunting license.
Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under 16 years
of age to all classes. To participate in the live-fire exercises,
children under 18 years old must present a parental release form
signed by a parent or legal guardian.