News Releases

FWC offers hunter safety course in Collier Co.

News Release

Friday, April 27, 2012

Media contact: Officer Jorge Pino, 561-723-1417

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) will host a free hunter safety course on May 3 through May 6. Classes May 3 and 4 are from 5:45 9:15 p.m.; May 5, from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.; and May 6, from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Except for those who have already successfully completed the online portion of the course, attendance on all days is required for certification. If you have completed the online course, you only need to attend on May 5 and 6. You will need to bring the final Web report, which does not have to be notarized.

Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun handling, hunter ethics/responsibility and other topics before taking the final test. The course also includes live-firing instruction on a shooting range.

Classes will be at the North Naples Fire District, 1885 Veterans Park Drive, Naples, FL 34109.

Participants can sign up at or by calling the FWC’s South Region Office at 561-625-5122. A link to the online part of the course and a statewide schedule of hunter safety classes are available at

Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an approved hunter safety course before purchasing a Florida hunting license. Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under 16 years of age to all classes. To participate in the live-fire exercises, children under 18 years old must present a parental release form signed by a parent or legal guardian.

FWC Facts:
Each person operating, riding on, or being towed behind a personal watercraft must wear an approved, non-inflatable Type I, II, III or V personal flotation device (PFD).

Learn More at AskFWC